The ***storyline*** tag is a Keenspace utility, right?

The Gear is deprecated, use the Help forum or CG Wiki.

The ***storyline*** tag is a Keenspace utility, right?

Postby DrDestruction on Sun Aug 18, 2002 6:48 am

Just making sure I'm posting under the right Forum.

I have three storyarcs, two of which are done and one that has started, but the ***storyline*** tag only displays the first one. These are the two tags I have on my Archives Page:

***storyline***

***story_archive***

This is what I have in my dropdown.txt file:

Introductions,/d/20020522.html
Obligatory Dream Sequence,/d/20020730.html
Training Day,/d/20020815.html
User avatar
DrDestruction
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: Rio Piedras, PR, USA

Postby Kisai on Sun Aug 18, 2002 8:35 pm

Most people can't make the story dropdown work. You'll have to ask someone who has it working, as the problem is never obvious unfortunately.
User avatar
Kisai
Goddess of Light
Goddess of Light
 
Posts: 3256
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: The Past, the Present, The future

Postby Atrus on Mon Aug 19, 2002 5:43 am

After a bit of testing, I discovered that the script will handle either a carriage return and a linefeed (\r\n) or just a linefeed (\n) as the new line charachter sequence. You wouldn't happen to be a mac user, would you?(mac text files just use a carriage return (\r) for new lines) Set your text editor to use one of the two settings I mentioned, if possible (they might also be called windows style and unix style). You can download the text file with linefeeds used as end of line charachters here.
If it doesn't work, make it.
-An updated taglossary
-A quick FAQ
User avatar
Atrus
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm

Postby DrDestruction on Mon Aug 19, 2002 7:47 am

Ok, that did the trick.

Is there any other gear that's platform specific?
User avatar
DrDestruction
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: Rio Piedras, PR, USA

Postby STrRedWolf on Mon Aug 19, 2002 8:29 am

If there's anyone who run MacOS and is willing to help fix this bug in AutoKeen, please PrivateMessage me or InstantMessage me. I need an unmunged (Mac Format) version of your storyline dropdown data file to see if I can convert it on the fly. You will have to upload it as Raw Binary (no text conversion, please!).

Of course, if you want to just edit in Unix format text, just use BBedit. :)
Kelly "STrRedWolf" Price
Admin, Comic Genesis
Artist/Writer, Stalag '99 (WolfSkunks and Drygers, oh my!)
I NEED MORE TIME, CAPTIN!
User avatar
STrRedWolf
Confuzzled CG Admin
Confuzzled CG Admin
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: undef;

Postby DrDestruction on Mon Aug 19, 2002 9:12 am

Already edited it. Converted it to DOS format and it works fine. Of course if you want I can convert it back and then send that to you.
User avatar
DrDestruction
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: Rio Piedras, PR, USA

Postby Atrus on Tue Aug 20, 2002 12:25 am

I talked to kelly about running the file through a filter that would take care of mac files. The solution simply reads the file, splits lines at lone carriage returns (mac style newline) and then the mac-adjusted array replaces the original from the file. A better solution would be something like:
Code: Select all
@bufferedlines;
sub getline {
     if( @bufferedlines == 0 ) {
          local($line);
          $line=<filehandle>;
          @bufferedlines=split(/\r./,$line);
     }
     return unshift(@bufferedlines);
}


it would read in the entire file if it was a mac-style file, but that's the best you can do without reading the file a charachter at a time.
If it doesn't work, make it.
-An updated taglossary
-A quick FAQ
User avatar
Atrus
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm

Postby DrDestruction on Tue Aug 20, 2002 4:44 am

So, that would be a no?
User avatar
DrDestruction
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: Rio Piedras, PR, USA

Postby Atrus on Tue Aug 20, 2002 1:38 pm

I can get STrRedWolf mac style text files easily if he needs them, so don't worry about that. In fact I'll drop one in my keenspace acount now. He might contact you about testing it later or something. I placed the mac style file in
/keenwork/dropdown.txt
If it doesn't work, make it.
-An updated taglossary
-A quick FAQ
User avatar
Atrus
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm

Postby Bluecanary on Fri Aug 23, 2002 6:15 am

so, if i want to create one of these storyline dropsowns,
what name would i need to save the text under so it will work properly?

example, for the next_comic tag to work, i need to save that graphic as next_comic.gif.
User avatar
Bluecanary
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: Jonesboro, AR USA

Postby Atrus on Fri Aug 23, 2002 10:47 am

Read the taglossary and storyline dropdown primer for stroyline related ***tags*** and how to set up your dropdown. (The taglossary has a link to the primer and I'm feeling lazy)
If it doesn't work, make it.
-An updated taglossary
-A quick FAQ
User avatar
Atrus
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm

Postby Atrus on Sun Aug 25, 2002 6:27 pm

I just remembered that if you transfer a file in ASCII mode the end of line charachters are automaticlly converted. Your FTP program should transfer text files in ASCII mode automaticlly.

Just thinking about avoiding these sorts of problems in the future
If it doesn't work, make it.
-An updated taglossary
-A quick FAQ
User avatar
Atrus
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm

Postby Bluecanary on Mon Aug 26, 2002 6:27 am

thanks.
i'll look on my ftp program and see about that ASCII setting.
:D
User avatar
Bluecanary
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: Jonesboro, AR USA

Postby JPSloan on Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:53 am

Any idea why my storyline dropdown works on my index page but not on my archive pages?
Ancient relic of a by-gone era.
User avatar
JPSloan
Cartoon Hero
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: Germantown, MD

Postby Seven3 on Wed Jan 08, 2003 4:12 pm

I can tell you 'how come', but I can't answer 'why'.

All the storyline dropdowns call on siteadmin.keenspace.com/cgi-bin/dropdown.cgi to perform the redirect. This doesn't work due to the server move (siteadmin is being replaced, quite aptly, by schlockadmin).

On the index page tho' the dropdown calls www.keenspace.com/cgi-bin/dropdown.cgi. That's on an older server and AutoKeen (which writes the dropdown form your text file) shouldn't be referring to it.
But it is, and it works. Go figure. :-?
<B>Don't Panic.</B> - Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy, Isaiah 43.
User avatar
Seven3
Cartoon Hero
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postby JPSloan on Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:38 am

Huh. That would do it.
Ancient relic of a by-gone era.
User avatar
JPSloan
Cartoon Hero
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: Germantown, MD

Postby Seven3 on Thu Jan 09, 2003 3:23 pm

<a href="http://forums.keenspace.com/viewtopic.php?t=47376" title="general discussion topic">I fixed it!</a>
<B>Don't Panic.</B> - Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy, Isaiah 43.
User avatar
Seven3
Cartoon Hero
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: New Zealand


 

Return to Gear



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron