Lettering

For discussion of the comic, its characters, story, art, suggestions, feedback, etc.

Lettering

Postby Megaskunjii on Sun May 21, 2006 12:18 pm

I find that the artwork is quite good, but the lettering makes it difficult to read at times.

What kind of applications do you use to transfer things to electronic format?
Megaskunjii
Regular Poster

Postby Decomics on Tue May 23, 2006 3:42 pm

I scan the images in and modify (as necessary) using Paint Shop Pro 6 (archaic but it gets the job done).

Sorry about the lettering. That is one area that I may experiment with larger lettering in Book Two.

I prefer to hand render the letters because (a) I've been doing that since 1980; and (b) it's much quicker.

The real quirk is in the artwork not being inked. I think if it were inked, it would probably be much clearer. I darken all the lines by lowering the gamma. This often causes some darkening around the letters that renders them harder to see.

Increasing the lettering size may help. We shall see... :D
Allen S.
Co-Author/Artist
Due East
http://dueeast.comicgenesis.com
Decomics
Regular Poster

Postby Megaskunjii on Sat May 27, 2006 6:39 am

I highly reccomend either inking the material either electronically or physically. Your line work is good and inking it will be worth the trouble... especially when you compare your early work to mine. When I first started, Super Temps looked even worse without inking and a splash of colour -- mostly due to a lack of detail on my part. By contrast, your early work had a good level of detail and is consistent. Inking will only improve it further.
Megaskunjii
Regular Poster

Postby ShardZ on Sat May 27, 2006 9:07 am