Wii demand satisfaction

The happening place to be. Unless you go somewhere else that's more stimulating.
TheSuburbanLetdown
Destroyer of Property Value

Wii demand satisfaction

Post by TheSuburbanLetdown »

I just played Zelda on the Nintendo Wii at a Game Stop on my lunch break, and it feels so foreign. I've been playing video games since 1987 with a controller, and this throws all that out the window. But this could very well be the next evolutionary step in gaming, as it's not just a simple gimmick. But my, it takes some getting used to. I have logged 40+ hours on the Game Cube version of Zelda and I found the Wii version to be difficult just to finish the second dungeon.

On a different note, I was only there for 20 minutes, and 4 people came in and asked if they had any Wiis. They most certainly didn't.

Gildedtongue
Regular Poster

Post by Gildedtongue »

It's tougher, yeah...

But you do get used to it after some time. It takes a little bit to slowly get used to the control scheme, but some games, like Wii Sports, that'll let you get used to the controller in your hand. Games like Zelda feel a bit more complex.

Whatupwidat
Regular Poster

Post by Whatupwidat »

The whole world gets the Wii except me, I swear to god.

No, I'm not a fan. I don't understand how it's anything more than a gimmick like DDR. I've played the Wii, and it's fun, but that's all it is. I really can't see myself playing a game like Call of Duty or FEAR on it. I'll stick to my mouse and keyboard ta.

TheSuburbanLetdown

It's pretty neat, but only time will tell if it lasts. Nintendo seems to have a good handle on the idea, but I dunno how third party developers will use it. Truly though, the crusty old man inside me really really likes his standard controller and didn't really see what was wrong with changing that. Though Nintendo wisely made a standard controller available.

Fallen_angel
Regular Poster

Post by Fallen_angel »