First comic attempt--Opinions?

Think your comic can improve? Whether it's art or writing, composition or colouring, feel free to ask here! Critique and commentary welcome.

First comic attempt--Opinions?

Postby inthebetween on Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:45 am

So, as the title reads, this is my very first attempt at a comic, so both the art and the writing itself is pretty cruddy, if I do say so myself. Anyways, here are my first two comics. The basic premise is a sleepaway camp, and I plan to really have the story focus less on a main character (although Lance will probably stick around enough to be considered the main man.), and more on a vast array of cast members, from the older staff to the 7 year old campers.

So, here are my very first two strips. They're kind of big, so I thought I'd just give you the links, not being familiar with typical etiquette here.
http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w212 ... Strip1.png
http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w212 ... icomic.png

So these here are my first two. I'm working on my third, but that'll be a while (see below).
Do you think the tempate (size of panels, arrangement, ect.) works? Is it too big? Is the text not readable enough?
Anything to say about the basic artwork ?(I am working on my figure drawing and proportions, reading tutorials, ect. hopefully I'll get more realism as I improve.)
Does anyone know how I can make the images look less...pixel-y? Any observations on that subject?
Does the size of the people correlate well to the size of the background?
Was the first comic too cliche?
Did the second one make sense? Is it clear what Melinda is holding in her hand? Was the joke clear enough? Was the joke too clear, and not funny enough?

I image it'll take a while for the comic to really get where I want it to be, right now there are a lot of introductions to be made.

http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w212 ... LanceR.png
http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w212 ... lindaC.png