Feedback needed on my own font for comic lettering

Think your comic can improve? Whether it's art or writing, composition or colouring, feel free to ask here! Critique and commentary welcome.

Feedback needed on my own font for comic lettering

Postby Harishankar on Fri Jan 22, 2010 8:41 am

I've posted the re-lettered version of episode 4 of The Legalease here:
http://harishankar.org/blog/entry.php/t ... -episode-4

I created my own font to avoid legal issues with using Blambot fonts (in case I decide to publish it as a book later). So I wanted to create my own font for my work. I don't necessarily mind paying the license fee for a font, but I also wanted to add a personal touch with the lettering of my comic.

I'd love your feedback on the font - whether it's readable or character spacing needs refinement. It's not pro quality I know and it shows, but I want to know if it's reasonable considering that it's my first attempt at such a thing. If it looks too bad, unreadable or unsuitable, I'll re-letter using a pro-quality font later.

I'd love specific feedback on which characters appear too close together or too wide apart and which chars look badly misshapen.
Harishankar
Regular Poster

Re: Feedback needed on my own font for comic lettering

Postby RobertBr on Fri Jan 22, 2010 1:09 pm

Looks okay. It has a very hand done, rather than the professional look of a blambot font. What program did you use to create it?

Robert
RobertBr
Regular Poster

Postby Harishankar on Fri Jan 22, 2010 9:54 pm

I used fontforge. Open source font creation tool in Linux

http://fontforge.sourceforge.net/

I think the next time I create a font, I should use a felt tip marker to draw the characters on paper and scan them in. Doing with a thinner pen makes for some irregularities...
Harishankar
Regular Poster

Postby RobertBr on Sun Jan 24, 2010 6:19 am

Well, that is quite a cool little tool. Had a quick go myself: