In memory of Tonja Steele

In memory of Tonja Steele

Postby KS_Claw on Sat Sep 25, 2010 12:09 am

It's my first time posting on this forum, and this is despite how I've liked the Tonja Steele comic, at least until fairly recently.

Hating to be a complete wet blanket, I'll start out with some of the positive things.

I love the humor in Tonja Steele. I love the old storylines, I love the jokes and I love how there is a Don Rosa quality to the strips, meaning that you can go through the archives again and again, and still somehow catch a tiny detail that you have missed before.

Sadly, the (relatively) newer strips just don't seem to have that quality to them, especially when it comes to characters that, quite honestly, have been changed in several ways. I'm sure some people don't mind, but they just... irk me.

Lisa I can get, we all knew she had some kind mysterious past that was bound to catch up with her sooner or later. Hell, it was one of the reasons I stuck around, and while the revelation made me raise an eyebrow, I felt it added a nice flavor.

And then it turned out that Darron, our blond bartender, who started out in this strip with a frikkin' mullet and trying and failing to get a date from Tonja, turned out to be some kind of super genius, who sold inventions now and then to the military? That just doesn't hold up. It was like someone had just told me, that my childhood hero had been doing crack and was found in a dirty motelroom with a dead whore and crashed out in a puddle of his own bodily fluids.

And Damien. Dear god, whatever happened to you!? How did you turn into a boxer hooked on steroids!? I liked you so much better when you were Darrons height and practically romanced Julie before even going to the corner store for groceries.