[Concept] Albion Fuzz merchandise

[Concept] Albion Fuzz merchandise

Postby Palfrey on Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:34 pm

Disclaimers:
1) Vaguely pissed, therefore am not to blame for any spelling mistakes. The overall idea however is good, irregardless of my brain state
2) Am a complete and utter t-shirt freak, have over 70 of the silly things already, but always looking for additions.

Those over, I would like to raise the idea of Albion Fuzz merchandise, directed towards the idea of a t-shirt (or t-shirts) specifically, but also in the general idea of other merch, like custom 'toons and so on (artist time permitting, I am very well aware of the stresses of uni right now).

I'm not an artist (lack of any artistic ability being the main reason), but vague ideas along the theme of a character + logo on the front, with some strip on the back appears to be a popular option for many other webcomics.

Other ideas are welcome, they're probably better than mine...

Heck, I'd buy it! :D
Palfrey

Postby Rennen on Thu Dec 05, 2002 2:09 am

Well, without delving into artists'time or interest, there's two ways to do it:

A, have the shirts printed by a supplier and sell them, or B, set up something like a Cafepress account.

Cafepress is easy, quick, and takes away all the worries of handling the shirts, money, sales and customer support. The drawback is your profit margin- if that's the idea- is absurdly low. Keep the price of the shirt reasonable and you're making only a few dollars per. On the third hand counterpoint, you save time and aggravation with not having to deal with shipping and customers, so it's a balance. You also don't have to worry about unsold stock.

Having the shirts printed can be workable, if you don't mind the few extra E-mails and trips to the post office. However, you'll have to fork out a fair chunk right at the beginning, and hope to recoup the loss. If they don't sell, you're stuck with 'em.