About that main page rant...

About that main page rant...

Postby Big Bad Al on Mon Jul 08, 2002 4:38 am

The reason I used "furry" (God I f**king HATE that word now!) characters is two-fold:

a) When I started drawing these things I couldn't draw for crap (and I still can't) and all my human characters all looked the same. Using animals made it easier to tell them apart.

b) A standard comic convention is to take something cute and make it un-cute! It's a well known fact that evil bunnies are funny so I'm milked that for all it's worth and then some!

As for "furries" themselves their the same as any type of fan base: You get the semi-normal and you have the complete freaks. I have no time for the later but I will entertain the former if their not completely insane.

Myself, I find it hard to get excited about any drawing, let alone one of cartoon animals...

Saying that the picture of Sible in the second panel of today's strip is kinda cute!

*mmmmm* "vales!"

< /joke >
-Al

"One death is a tragedy. One million is a statistic!"

Poisoned Minds
Big Bad Al
Regular Poster

Preponduan.

Postby Gloria on Mon Jul 08, 2002 8:14 am

Why do I draw furry comics?

Well, it's not because I have any desire to be great in the fandom *gag*

However.... I'm really what you might call "furry sympathizing" by nature.
I've always loved animals (not in the veteranary sense, more in the pure aesthetic sense). I've always been drawn to anyhting that had talking animals in it. It's.... a part of who I am. I can't escape that.

The reason for a furry comic? Well, come of the characters in Untitled! go back almost further than I can remember. Well, Twap does, anyway. Xe and Snitter also go back to before I ever heard the word "furry" used in it's current form.

However, I'm also very spiritual in my thought patterns. I'm more interested in the "why" than the "how" (as you can tell by reading my comic). Thus, my animal characters have a deep spiritual and emotional aspect to their lives.