Beta Testing a New Webcomic Project

For discussions, announcements, non-technical questions and anything else comics-related or otherwise that doesn't fit in any of the other categories.

Beta Testing a New Webcomic Project

Postby thepastelsuit on Sat May 12, 2012 12:10 pm

Hey guys! So after a few months of R&D in the wonderful world of webcomics, I've finally built the platform for my webcomic and am looking for some feedback from some more experienced individuals (my mom thinks it's cool).

I talked with STrRedWolf and gave him the rundown of my project and vision for it and he directed me here with a moderator approval, so hopefully it finds the right kind of people!

About myself:
I have always been a big fan of webcomics (namely humorous comics); however, I am very much NOT an artist. I'm a professional software engineer and system administrator. I've wanted to start a comic for a while and did a lot of research into what would entail a successful comic (in that people enjoy reading and I also continue to enjoy making them). Everything I read said the same thing; make something innovative, make something original. I thought "well hey, that's exactly what my advice would be to someone asking for tips on creating a new great website or application." So I approached this idea the same way I would as a piece of software, by evaluating the integration with new technologies. Enter Real Pseudo.

About the project:
For those of you less familiar with being involved in open source software, the idea is this: Anyone and everyone can contribute code, documentation, core assets, etc. All of these contributions are evaluated by someone (or a group of someones) to determine what ends up in production. Real Pseudo follows this same formula, but with comic assets. Illustrations, paintings, drawings, writing... everything that goes into a comic can be contributed.