Ah, the joy of installing autokeen lite...

The Gear is deprecated, use the Help forum or CG Wiki.

Ah, the joy of installing autokeen lite...

Postby Townie on Fri Dec 27, 2002 2:31 am

I finally got a domain name for my strip and I've been working like heck to get autokeen lite and blogger to work on it. Blogger's not a problem now, and I thought autokeen was fixed but apparently it's not.
I moved my strip, Townies, from http://www.townies.8m.com to http://www.towniescomics.com
I have an archive of about 63 strips, but autokeen lite can fix that if I can get it to read my directory, right? Anyway, when I open either the page or the page/cgi-bin/autokeenlite.cgi it shows the tags as text. It took me a couple days to get the absolute pathway set so it would even show up. Now I have to find a way to get the tags to work.
As far as configuring, I think I got the pathway correct, but I'm not sure what I've got wrong. I set the timer to +3 for my timezone, and I changed the indextemplate.html to index.html so I have less files in the my directory. I configured it for that in the cgi so I have no idea what's wrong now. The web seems so silent when you have a problem, and my server host is a little slow on responding to my last e-mail. If anyone can offer help, I'd gladly appreciate it. Thanks.
-Ben
User avatar
Townie
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Ohio

Postby Sss on Mon Jan 20, 2003 7:48 am

Unlike here on keenspace autokeenlite doesn't make individual pages for each comic. Rather it uses the cgi to create the page per request. What I have done is set up a index page that contains links to the autokeenlite.cgi file. As for placing the curent comic on the index page I'm not sure but I think you have to put a line like this

<#--EXEC CGI="http://www.whatever.com/cgi-bin/autokeenlite.cgi" -->

in the index.html file. But I never got it to work right so I defaulted to the other method. See it in action here!

Hope this helped...
[url=http://sss.keenspace.com/]Image
[/url]-That's what I said, deal with it!
User avatar
Sss
Regular Poster
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Louisville, KY

Postby TDZach on Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:38 pm

I was having some trouble with autokeenlite, in so far as getting it to work with my php templates. What my index file has ended up looking like is this:

<?
include 'header.php';
include 'http://mydomain.com/cgi-bin/autokeenlite.cgi';
include 'footer.php';
?>

One of the things about this is that using the Exec command is like running a cgi script at command line. You won't get any of the output, which is in html. By my using the include, I'm adding in all of the code that will be put out by the script, just notice that I had to do an http call, though. I also had to make a static link in my dailytemplate file back to index.php, but now that I've got that all out of the way, everything's working well.
TDZach
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:28 pm


 

Return to Gear



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests