Page 1 of 2

Got .keenspace.com? You need to change it now.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 5:04 pm
by STrRedWolf
I hate to be evil to everyone, but this one comes from Darren at Keenspot Entertainment (our parent company).

The changeover to .comicgenesis.com or .comicgen.com is manditory. .keenspace.com will be relegated to redirect-only status.

Sorry, folks. If you haven't done so already, you need to do so now. I'm now setting the deadline to New Years Day -- that's when I go in the system and force everyone's comic that hasn't changed over to use .comicgenesis.com, and manually run an HTTP access file update. When that happens, sites are going to break.

Items that come out of the tags will continue to work, but any IMG SRC HTML tags that use http://<username>.keenspace.com/whatever instead of just /whatever are going to break.

How to change your site over: http://forums.comicgenesis.com/viewtopic.php?t=66857

You will need to use the old http://siteadmin.comicgenesis.com:8080 to change your domains. I doubt Kisai has ported the tool over to her Siteadmin system.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 11:24 am
by Jamal23227
now that keenspace is now comic genesis, will my log in info remain the same? anyway, i just changed my comic domain from peno.keenspace.com to peno.comicgen.com

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 11:36 am
by Cope
Your username and password will remain exactly the same, although you might have to change the url you ftp to if you use a third-party ftp program.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 9:38 pm
by SailorPtah
http://siteadmin.comicgenesis.com:8080/ ... s/main.cgi is not working, with either of my accounts (snrpg or hellsing).

I've already switched hellsing over, but I still need to switch snrpg.

Each time I log in, I get
Logging you in!
If it doesn't load in the next 5 seconds, click here.


Five seconds later, the following appears:
This page requires authentication, please goto the Login page.


The word "Login" is linked back to the main page. Lather, rinse, repeat.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 4:00 pm
by STrRedWolf
SailorPtah wrote:http://siteadmin.comicgenesis.com:8080/cgi-bin/members/main.cgi is not working, with either of my accounts (snrpg or hellsing).

I've already switched hellsing over, but I still need to switch snrpg.

Each time I log in, I get
Logging you in!
If it doesn't load in the next 5 seconds, click here.


Five seconds later, the following appears:
This page requires authentication, please goto the Login page.


The word "Login" is linked back to the main page. Lather, rinse, repeat.


Clear out your cookies for siteadmin.comicgenesis.com, and try again.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 4:41 pm
by Rkolter
RedWolf -

Be sure that if you write a script to do the changeover for those comics that don't change over by the deadline, that you don't write the script to change ANY comic over that isn't already on .comicgenesis.com. In other words, word it so it only changes over those on .keenspace.com, not "If NOT .comicgenesis.com....."

Those of us with our own domains aren't set in the panel to .comicgenesis.com - we have an additional radio button that has our domain name in it.

I'm pretty sure you already considered all this, but be sure to test it too before running. With our luck at changeovers, I can just see every one of us with a domain name suddenly suddenly going 404 sometime early in the new year. >.<

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 8:43 am
by MisterIrony
Has an e-mail been sent out to the mailing lists about this? If so, I never received one.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 9:46 am
by STrRedWolf
rkolter wrote:Be sure that if you write a script to do the changeover for those comics that don't change over by the deadline, that you don't write the script to change ANY comic over that isn't already on .comicgenesis.com. In other words, word it so it only changes over those on .keenspace.com, not "If NOT .comicgenesis.com....."

Those of us with our own domains aren't set in the panel to .comicgenesis.com - we have an additional radio button that has our domain name in it.

I'm pretty sure you already considered all this, but be sure to test it too before running. With our luck at changeovers, I can just see every one of us with a domain name suddenly suddenly going 404 sometime early in the new year. >.<


<TT>UPDATE keen_comics SET comic_domain=".comicgenesis.com" WHERE comic_domain=".keenspace.com"</TT>

Don't worry about the custom domain names. It's all autohandled. :)

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 10:01 am
by Escushion
STrRedWolf wrote:
rkolter wrote:Be sure that if you write a script to do the changeover for those comics that don't change over by the deadline, that you don't write the script to change ANY comic over that isn't already on .comicgenesis.com. In other words, word it so it only changes over those on .keenspace.com, not "If NOT .comicgenesis.com....."

Those of us with our own domains aren't set in the panel to .comicgenesis.com - we have an additional radio button that has our domain name in it.

I'm pretty sure you already considered all this, but be sure to test it too before running. With our luck at changeovers, I can just see every one of us with a domain name suddenly suddenly going 404 sometime early in the new year. >.<


<TT>UPDATE keen_comics SET comic_domain=".comicgenesis.com" WHERE comic_domain=".keenspace.com"</TT>

Don't worry about the custom domain names. It's all autohandled. :)


Phew!

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 8:50 am
by Grey_the_angel
so do we have to manually update the links and all that as well? :(

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 4:46 pm
by STrRedWolf
Anything that's not done by the tags you will need to adjust.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 5:14 pm
by Cope
If you're linking something that exists within your site, your url isn't necessary anyway. For example, this:

Code: Select all
/images/title.gif

will work just as well as this:

Code: Select all
http://chronocrystal.keenspace.com/images/title.gif



The same applies to links. This:
Code: Select all
/archives.html

will work the same as this:

Code: Select all
http://chronocrystal.keenspace.com/archives.html


This is just for future reference. If you do things this way, you won't have to worry about changing your site's code if your url is changed again in the future.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 6:21 am
by Morbidprince
http://siteadmin.comicgenesis.com:8080

wouldn't load for me :-? I've tried clearing my cookies, but it still doesn't work, what else can I do in simple english? :cry:

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 9:36 am
by ColdFusion
Aw man, this is ... well, wack! I haven't been able to update in months, now I have to figure -this- mess out? Totally unfair, and I only have a week! Can't someone do it for me?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 1:41 pm
by STrRedWolf
morbidprince, ColdFusion? Can you PM me with your username and how you can't get into the old Siteadmin on port 8080?

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 12:21 pm
by Cheyenne Wright
When I try to change my domain over I get this error message...

502 Bad Gateway
The CGI was not CGI/1.1 compliant.




username: arcanetimes

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 2:33 pm
by Kidneo66
i've changed over, and i was changing my archive layout and everything and now my archived comics do not show up at all...is there a way to fix this, from what i gather Autokeen was supposed to do that all when i changed verything over...and all of my jpegs are still there...but the done't show up....

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:37 am
by Ryuko
So it will still redirect? That's good.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:34 am
by MHnAkari
"502 Bad Gateway
The CGI was not CGI/1.1 compliant. "

I mean, it's enough that I have to change the url, but I can't change it! I tried like twelve times. :roll: It isn't doing in.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 2:25 pm
by Jamal23227
my comic is listed in the google and dmoz directories, but they have the keenspace.com url. if someone click on the peno.keenspace.com, will it redirect them to peno.comicgen.com?