Recieving 404 in Dropdown

For requests for help from CG administrators, Wranglers, and experienced CG members. Please read the FAQ before posting. Also look at CG Wiki for tutorials and how-tos written by other CG webtoonists.
Post Reply
User avatar
Manganese
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 10:08 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Recieving 404 in Dropdown

Post by Manganese »

It is the oddest thing. My dropdown navigation bar has always worked until just recently. Now when I select the page then press go, I go to a page that only has the number "404" on it.

http://siteadmin.comicgenesis.com/cgi-b ... 09.html%0D

My regular site is http://manganese.keenspace.com

User avatar
Plothole
Cartoon Hero
Posts: 1056
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 10:23 pm
Location: In the Kitchen.
Contact:

Post by Plothole »

<D'oh! I meant to report this earlier.>

But yeah, I've been getting the same error on a number of 'Genesis comics since last night: In every case, the storylines dropdown returns a 404 error.

I guess its the siteadmin script itself thats at fault.

User avatar
Amtekoth
Regular Poster
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:01 am
Location: Madison, WI
Contact:

Post by Amtekoth »

Same problem with my horror anthology comic, A Gathering of Crows. I don't think it's been this way for long, but I sure hope it's fixed soon! I just started a new chapter (a new short story, actually).
Image

More fun than you should ever have in a laboratory. We are not related to the Bratz toy line owned by MGA.

User avatar
Gloria
Regular Poster
Posts: 833
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: Over yonder.
Contact:

Post by Gloria »

I, too, have been 404'd! <a href="http://untitled.keenspace.com">Untitled!</a>'s storyline dropdown is doing the same thing.

Is there any chance this was somehow caused by the changeover in the siteadmin URL? Like... the script that generates the dropdown no longer knows where to look, or something?
~Gloria~

User avatar
Manganese
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 10:08 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Post by Manganese »

Phew, I'm kinda relieved others are having the same problem. Hopefully it will be fixed soon. :D

User avatar
Kisai
Goddess of Light
Goddess of Light
Posts: 3276
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: The Past, the Present, The future
Contact:

Re: Recieving 404 in Dropdown

Post by Kisai »

manganese wrote:It is the oddest thing. My dropdown navigation bar has always worked until just recently. Now when I select the page then press go, I go to a page that only has the number "404" on it.

http://siteadmin.comicgenesis.com/cgi-b ... 09.html%0D

My regular site is http://manganese.keenspace.com
that siteadmin address isn't even a valid location.

User avatar
Amtekoth
Regular Poster
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:01 am
Location: Madison, WI
Contact:

Post by Amtekoth »

It's working now! Thanks for fixing the problem!
Image

More fun than you should ever have in a laboratory. We are not related to the Bratz toy line owned by MGA.

User avatar
Gloria
Regular Poster
Posts: 833
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 1999 4:00 pm
Location: Over yonder.
Contact:

Post by Gloria »

Soo.... what WAS the fix for it? Is it fixed space-wide, or just on one person's site?

I guess I should just be patient and wait for the server to come back online and SEE if it's fixed or not... just curious to know... just in case it's NOT working when the site comes back... :)
~Gloria~

User avatar
Risky
69
Posts: 3833
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 8:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Risky »

I secretly use the dropdown's code but not the keentag for it. The code the dropdown generates is buggy.

User avatar
Manganese
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 10:08 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Post by Manganese »

Yay! It seems to be working now.

Thanks for the fix! :D

Post Reply